WeImprovise! is a work in progress, proof of concept, & labor of love. Find Out More.

Next Collective’s Cover Art Delivers A New Generation Of Modern Musicians

United States
Album Features Stellar Musicians - Logan Richardson, Walter Smith III, Matthew Stevens, Gerald Clayton, Kris Bowers, Ben Williams, Jamire Williams and Special Guest Christian Scott (aka Christian aTunde Adjuah) Set For Release February 26th, 2013

ITunes’ 3-track exclusive Arrives Today, Monday October 22nd- Includes covers of Jay Z and Kanye West’s “No Church In the Wild,” D’Angelo’s “Africa,” and Pearl Jam’s “Oceans.”

LOS ANGELES, CALIF. (October 22, 2012) – Concord Jazz, a division of Concord Music Group, releases an exciting new project by NEXT Collective titled Cover Art — an ensemble recording by the next generation of jazz greats exploring their own interpretations of songs by such contemporary artists as Bon Iver, Drake, N.E.R.D, Little Dragon and more. Today, iTunes provides a sneak peak of the album (full album due for release February 26, 2013) with three singles that exemplify the diverse and often daring album.

The ensemble is comprised of saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams, and special guest trumpeter Christian Scott (aka Christian aTunde Adjuah). NEXT Collective represents the new wave of highly skilled improvisers, melodists, and arrangers and who are closely connected as colleagues and as friends.

The range and feel of the tunes on Cover Art speak both to the arranging talents of the members, and also to the diversity of their collective tastes. Hip-hop and punk-funk, singer-songwriter, guitar-pop, electro-R&B and alt-rock are all integrated and explored by these jazz innovators.

Sr. Director of A&R for Concord Music Group Chris Dunn conceived, coordinated and produced this debut recording along with the members of NEXT Collective. Speaking to the album’s development, Dunn states, “It began as a way of introducing three new artists on Concord—Richardson, Smith, and Stevens — they are all great writers but doing a recording of their originals, when not using your own band members, and all three having very different styles as leaders is a tall order musically. It could make for a very disjointed experience no matter how great the playing. Instead I thought it would be cool to do a project of covers from their generation and make a super group of the same.”

Complete Album Listing:

1. Twice (Little Dragon)
2. No Church In The Wild (Jay Z and Kanye West)
3. Africa (D’Angelo)
4. Fly Or Die (N.E.R.D)
5. Oceans (Pearl Jam)
6. Refractions In The Plastic Pulse (Stereolab)
7. Marvins Room (Drake)
8. Come Smoke My Herb (Meshell Ndegeocello)
9. Perth (Bon Iver)
10. Thank You (Dido)

Produced by Chris Dunn and NEXT Collective
First WOMEX Edition in Southeastern Europe: A Feast of Global Sounds
Previous Entry
First WOMEX Edition in Southeastern Europe: A Feast of Global Sounds

Saturday, 20 October 2012, Thessaloniki, Greece -- The eighteenth edition of WOMEX – the world music expo – is ending on Sunday, 21 October in Thessaloniki, Greece, after five full days and nights of global industry networking, thought- pro …

Apple Introduces iPad mini
Next Entry
Apple Introduces iPad mini

Unveils New Fourth Generation iPad with Retina Display, Faster A6X Chip, FaceTime HD Camera & Ultrafast Wireless SAN JOSE, California ― October 23, 2012 ― Apple® today introduced iPad® mini, a completely new iPad design that is 23 percent …

Patreon Logo, Become A Patron

Help support WeImprovise! for as little as $5/€5/£5 per month via Patreon Patreon.