WeImprovise! is a work in progress, proof of concept, & labor of love. Find Out More.

e.s.t. Esbjörn Svensson Trio - LEUCOCYTE [Double-Vinyl November 14, 2008, CD September 01, 2008, ACT]

United States
Double-Vinyl German Release Date: November 14, 2008
CD German Release Date: September 01, 2008

Oct 29 2008 — Leucocytes, white blood cells, are a part of the human immune system that protect the body against foreign pathogens and infections. They must periodically renew themselves to continue their work. For e.s.t., spontaneous jam sessions were the way to renewal. They would often rent a local recording studio for a couple of days during their tours and then start to jam. They did this without any pre-composed material. The musicians reacted freely to each other and let themselves be totally carried by the flow of ideas and musical to and fro. The players needed this freedom in order to explore new musical regions, or as Esbjörn Svensson always formulated it, “…to follow the music”. In the past, many of the trio’s compositions were developed through precisely this art of improvisation. And there was scarcely another formation on the planet that was as predestined for this way of going about business as e.s.t were. The three performed with an almost telepathic assuredness, breathing as one; “This group has become one sound, one genius mutant human being with six hands, three brains and one musical sensibility.” (Jamie Cullum). The trio constantly posed the fundamental question, “What can a piano trio be that it has not been before?” (Pat Metheny).

Leucocyte is the result of one of these two day jams. It took place at the famed “Studios 301” in Sydney during the band’s Australian tour. In early 2008 e.s.t.’s sound engineer Ake Linton joined the band at the Bohus Sound Studios in Gothenburg, Sweden to begin mixing. On April 28 there was a photo shoot in Berlin for the new campaign. On May 16 the artwork and album were delivered to ACT.

Then on June 14 the incomprehensible happened: Esbjörn Svensson, probably the most influential stylist of the last decade, lost his life in a diving accident off the island of Vrämdö near Stockholm. As a result, Leucocyte has become Esbjörn Svensson’s and e.s.t.’s musical legacy! It is the most venturesome album Esbjörn Svensson (p), Dan Berglund (b), and Magnus Öström (dr) have recorded as e.s.t. The essence of this journey of discovery is its ecstatic energy. It is a trip through the bloodstream sans compositional safety-net and stylistic restraints in which the borders of musical communication are sounded out. Esbjorn Svensson’s orbital musical journey began barely ten years ago with From Gagarin’s Point Of View, before coming to Earth with Strange Place For Snow and Seven Days Of Falling. He provided food for the soul with Viaticum, lost himself in his Tuesday Wonderland, and the journey now comes to an end with Leucocyte.

This album corresponds 100% to the material that Esbjörn Svensson, Dan Berglund and Magnus Öström chose and sent to their label, ACT, on May 16.

Line Up:

• Esbjörn Svensson – piano
• Dan Berglund – bass
• Magnus Öström – drums

Double-Vinyl Tracks:

Leucocyte – e.s.t. Esbjörn Svensson Trio – ACTLP 9018-1 – LC 07644

• Vinyl-1
• 01 Premonition I. Earth 17:07
• 02 Premonition II. Contorted 06:18
• Vinyl-2
• 01 Decade 01:17
• 02 Jazz 04:17
• 03 Still 09:55
• 04 Ajar 01:36
• Vinyl-3
• 01 Leucocyte I. Ab Initio 08:51
• 02 Leucocyte II. Ad Interim 01:00
• 03 Leucocyte III. Ad Mortem 13:08
• 04 Leucocyte IV. Ad Infinitum 04:38

CD Tracks:

Leucocyte – e.s.t. Esbjörn Svensson Trio – ACT 9018-2 – LC 07644

• 01 Decade 01:17
• 02 Premonition
• I. Earth 17:07
• II. Contorted 06:18 04 Jazz 04:17
• 05 Still 09:55
• 06 Ajar 01:36
• 07 Leucocyte
• I. Ab Initio 08:51
• II. Ad Interim 01:00
• III. Ad Mortem 13:08
• IV. Ad Infinitum 04:38

All tracks composed and produced by e.s.t.

Recorded by Ake Linton at Studios 301, Sydney, Australia

Mixed by Ake Linton, Bohus Sound Recording, Gothenburg, Sweden

Mastered by Dragan Tanaskovic, Bohus Sound Recording, Gothenburg, Sweden
Previous Entry
Monterey Jazz Festival’s Next Generation Festival Now Accepting Applications From Student Big Bands, Combos, Vocal Ensembles, Composers, Individual Musicians

Next Generation Festival Jazz Competition Open To Middle School, High School, Conglomerate School, And College Level Musicians And Vocalists Country’s Top Young Players Compete For Performance Opportunities At 53rd Annual Monterey Jazz Fes …

Heinz Sauer - Michael Wollny - Joachim Kühn - IF (BLUE) THEN (BLUE) [January 4, 2010, ACT]
Next Entry
Heinz Sauer - Michael Wollny - Joachim Kühn - IF (BLUE) THEN (BLUE) [January 4, 2010, ACT]

German Release Date: January 4, 2010 Blue delights: IF (BLUE) THEN (BLUE) - for the first time, Heinz Sauer has recorded with Joachim Kühn. Together with Michael Wollny, they have created an exciting homage to Kind Of Blue. Oct 30, 2009 — …

Patreon Logo, Become A Patron

Help support WeImprovise! for as little as $5/€5/£5 per month via Patreon Patreon.