WeImprovise! is a work in progress, proof of concept, & labor of love. Find Out More.

NEA Jazz Masters Award Ceremony and Concert to Be Heard Worldwide

United States
Audiences encouraged to listen online on Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at 7:30 p.m EST

January 11, 2010, Washington, D.C. - This year’s NEA Jazz Masters award ceremony and concert will have unprecedented reach--the program will be heard on terrestrial and satellite radio as well as online. WBGO Jazz 88.3FM based in Newark, New Jersey and Sirius/XM Satellite Radio’s Real Jazz Channel 70 will broadcast the event live with WBGO’s Gary Walker and Sirius/XM’s Mark Ruffin as co-hosts. In addition, WBGO and NPR Music will audio stream the event live on their websites at www.wbgo.org and www.npr.org/music.

The 2010 NEA Jazz Masters Awards ceremony and concert will take place at 7:30 p.m. EST in Rose Theater at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City, and feature the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis in a program dedicated to the honorees’ works. The 2010 NEA Jazz Masters are Muhal Richard Abrams, Kenny Barron, Bill Holman, Bobby Hutcherson, Yusef Lateef, Annie Ross, and Cedar Walton. George Avakian will receive the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.

NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman and Mr. Marsalis will be the co-hosts for this unique evening of music from eight of our nation’s great music artists, performed by one of the world’s most respected jazz orchestras, and complemented by stories of lives in jazz. The program will run approximately two hours without intermission.

Six of the honorees will join the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra on stage. Mr. Abrams, Mr. Holman (as guest conductor), and Mr. Walton along with Ms. Ross will perform with the orchestra, Mr. Barron will play solo piano, and Mr. Lateef will perform with percussionist Adam Pudolph.

Each honoree will be recognized with a musical tribute from the orchestra along with selected recordings, and an award presentation by a fellow NEA Jazz Master or Chairman Landesman.

Twenty-six fellow NEA Jazz Masters will be in the audience, including Toshiko Akiyoshi, Ornette Coleman, Paquito d’ Rivera, Ramsey Lewis, and Dr. Billy Taylor.
New Framus Panthera and Diablo Models
Previous Entry
New Framus Panthera and Diablo Models

11th Jan 2010 — In the past two years Framus’ product developers have made an effort to redefine Diablo and Panthera series guitars. In close cooperation with our endorsers and Framus players, key points on the instruments were refined, bot …

Jan 11, 2010GuitarFramus
Mining the Interracial History of Appalachian Blues on New Smithsonian Folkways Compilation 'Classic Appalachian Blues' Out February 16
Next Entry
Mining the Interracial History of Appalachian Blues on New Smithsonian Folkways Compilation 'Classic Appalachian Blues' Out February 16

January 11, 2010 — On February 16, 2010, Smithsonian Folkways will release a 21-track compilation of Appalachian blues as part of its exceptional 'Classics' series. 'Classic Appalachian Blues' features a staggering spectrum of blues music …

Patreon Logo, Become A Patron

Help support WeImprovise! for as little as $5/€5/£5 per month via Patreon Patreon.