WeImprovise! is a work in progress, proof of concept, & labor of love. Find Out More.

Chicago Celebrates Four Decades

United States
Rhino Celebrates Chicago’s 40th Anniversary With A New Limited-Edition Double-Disc, 38-Song Career-Spanning Collection

Features 30 Top Forty Hits Sequenced Chronologically From One of America’s Best-Selling and Longest-Running Bands

The Best of Chicago Available from Rhino Records October 2; Fan-Designed Cover Art Commemorates Special Bond Between Chicago and Fans

LOS ANGELES, 18 September 2007 — In 40 years, Chicago has done it all -- five consecutive #1 albums, 13 platinum albums, 21 Top 10 singles, a Grammy and a star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame. Five years after it began restoring the band’s extensive catalogue, Rhino Records salutes one of America’s best-selling and longest-running bands with a newly compiled, two-CD set that encompasses the group’s entire recording history. THE BEST OF CHICAGO: 40TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION will be available for a limited time from Rhino Records at all regular retail outlets October 2 for a suggested list price of $18.98 and at digital outlets for a suggested retail price of $ 11.99.

Spanning Chicago’s entire career -- from its 1969 debut Chicago Transit Authority, to 2006’s Chicago XXX -- the 30-song, double-disc anthology contains 30 Top 40 radio tracks including a trio of #1 smashes: “Look Away,” “Hard To Say I’m Sorry,” and the Grammy-winning “If You Leave Me Now.” Sequenced chronologically, the first disc features “Make Me Smile,” the band’s first Top 10 hit, along with “Does Any One Really Know What Time It Is?” and “Beginnings” from the band’s debut, “Colour My World” from Chicago II, “Saturday In The Park,” from Chicago V and the group’s signature “25 Or 6 To 4.”

The second disc continues the hit parade with the epic rock ballad “Love Me Tomorrow,” plus “You’re The Inspiration” and “Hard Habit To Break” from the back-to-back hit albums Chicago 16 (1982) and Chicago 17 (1984) before concluding with the 2006 hit, “Love Will Come Back.”

The album’s cover art and internal graphics were selected through a fan contest with long-time fan Mark Rosenmeier cover chosen from over 400 entries. Inside, 10 of the runner-up designs are included, which is testament to the power and talent of Chicago’s fans. Music journalist Bill DeYoung penned the liner notes, based on new interviews with the band.

To further celebrate this impressive achievement, Rhino will release a reissue of Heart of Chicago in MVI on November 20, and a Scrapbook 1967-1977 DVD on January 29, 2008, which features footage of the band’s first ten years, including a live show in Japan in 1972, a Dick Clark Special that has long been requested by fans, new interviews with the four original members, and never-before-seen home video from Robert Lamm. As the first band to play with The University of Notre Dame marching band, an exclusive DVD, The Greatest Halftime Show, will be available of that performance in September 2008. A Rhino Handmade 7″ singles boxed set of the band’s hits is also in the works for 2008.

In February 2007, Chicago became a member of an exclusive and exceptionally talented club of artists when the National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM) bestowed them with the Chairman’s Award for Sustained Creative Achievement during the organization’s 49th Annual Convention in Chicago.

Formed in their namesake city in 1967, Chicago’s music mixed rock, pop, and jazz in a completely new way, Propelled by innovative horn arrangements, the band’s commercial potential was soon apparent; when in 1970 the band hit the charts with its first of 21 Top 10 singles. The group would go on to score five consecutive #1 albums starting in 1972 with Chicago V, and concluding with Chicago IX -- Chicago’s Greatest Hits. In a career both influential and extensive, Chicago has sold more than 100 million records and continues to tour every year to SRO audiences.

The Best Of Chicago: 40th Anniversary Edition, Track Listing

  • Disc 1
  • 1. “Questions 67 And 68″
  • 2. ”25 Or 6 To 4″
  • 3. “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?”
  • 4. “Make Me Smile”
  • 5. “Beginnings”
  • 6. “Colour My World”
  • 7. “Saturday In The Park”
  • 8. “Feelin” Stronger Every Day”
  • 9. “Just You “N” Me”
  • 10. “Whishing You Were Here”
  • 11. “Old Days”
  • 12. “Another Rainy Day In New York City”
  • 13. “If You Leave Me Now”

  • Disc 2
  • 1. “Baby, What A Big Surprise”
  • 2. “No Tell Lover”
  • 3. “Hard To Say I’m Sorry”
  • 4. “Love Me Tomorrow”
  • 5. “Hard Habit To Break”
  • 6. “You’re The Inspiration”
  • 7. “Will You Still Love Me?”
  • 8. “If She Would Have Been Faithful...”
  • 9. “I Don’t Wanna Live Without Your Love”
  • 10. “Look Away”
  • 11. “What Kind Of Man Would I Be?”
  • 12. “You’re Not Alone”
  • 13. “Here In My Heart”
  • 14. “Feel” (with Horns)
  • 15. “Love Will Come Back”
Eventide Eclipse Delivers Diverse Range Of Tones And Ease-Of-Use To Simple Plan Guitarist Jeff Stinco [ 123rd AES Convention ]
Previous Entry
Eventide Eclipse Delivers Diverse Range Of Tones And Ease-Of-Use To Simple Plan Guitarist Jeff Stinco [ 123rd AES Convention ]

NEW YORK, NEW YORK, September 19, 2007 — Eventide’s powerful and versatile Eclipse™ processor is delivering the goods for Montreal-based Simple Plan guitarist, Jeff Stinco. Jeff is currently in the studio in Montreal completing the band’s t …

Cakewalk® Releases Sonar 7 Producer Edition
Next Entry
Cakewalk® Releases Sonar 7 Producer Edition

Already feature packed, SONAR 7 Producer Edition tips the scales with: integrated Step Sequencer view; Smart MIDI Tools; dozens of MIDI workflow and editing enhancements; Roland® V-Vocal™ 1.5 editor enhanced with pitch to MIDI conversion; n …

Patreon Logo, Become A Patron

Help support WeImprovise! for as little as $5/€5/£5 per month via Patreon Patreon.