WeImprovise! is a work in progress, proof of concept, & labor of love. Find Out More.

Poison Announces New Studio Album, POISON’D!, To Be Released June 5 By EMI America Records/Capitol

United States
13-Track Album Features Hot New Recordings of Poison’s Favorite Rock Classics, Including Hits Originally Recorded by David Bowie, The Rolling Stones, The Cars, Sweet, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and More!

Poison’s North American Summer Tour Begins June 12

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., April 3 2007 — Poison, one of rock’s most iconic and enduring bands, has recorded a new album of cover songs, featuring many of their favorite rock classics. POISON’D, the band’s first new studio album since 2002, will be released June 5 on CD and digitally by EMI America Records/Capitol.

Featuring Poison’s original members, Bret Michaels (vocals), C.C. DeVille (guitar), Rikki Rockett (drums) and Bobby Dall (bass), POISON’D presents the band’s first new studio recordings since 2002’s Hollyweird. Produced by Don Was at Hensen Recording Studios in Hollywood, POISON’D packs 13 explosive tracks, including new recordings of David Bowie’s “Suffragette City,” The Cars’ “You’re Just What I Needed,” The Romantics’ “What I Like About You,” Sweet’s “Little Willy,” The Marshall Tucker Band’s “Can’t You See” and The Rolling Stones’ “Dead Flowers.” Some of Poison’s best previously recorded covers are also featured on POISON’D, including KISS” “Rock and Roll All Nite,” Grand Funk Railroad’s “We’re An American Band” and Loggins and Messina’s “Your Mama Don’t Dance.”

“Poison is one of the greatest rock “n roll bands in the world and, after 20 years, they can slam better than ever,” says POISON’D producer Don Was. “They’re powerful musicians and very cool guys. We had a lot of fun making this album and I think you can hear it in the grooves -- it’s got the jive and is truly alive! I urge everyone to listen to it!”

Following the release of POISON’D, Poison will hit the road again on June 12 for a major North American summer concert tour. Tour dates and details will be announced and posted to the band’s official website as they are confirmed. Visit www.poisonweb.com and www.myspace.com/poison for the latest Poison news and links to other Poison-related websites.

In July, VH1 will premiere a new reality show, “Rock of Love with Bret Michaels.” VH1’s description of the show has “the hard-rockin” Poison front man looking for a woman who can truly keep up with his rock-n-roll lifestyle and not become jealous of his one true passion -- performing, which has been the reason for and destruction of most of his relationships.”

In 1986, Poison released their debut album, Look What the Cat Dragged In. After years of hard work, touring and controversy, radio and MTV finally took notice of the band and their music, propelling Poison into superstardom. Look What the Cat Dragged In peaked at #3 on the Billboard album charts, charted three singles and sold more than four million copies.

The band’s 1988 follow-up, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! went Platinum two weeks after its release. The single “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” hit #1 on Billboard’s Singles chart and the album sold more than seven million units. 1990’s Flesh & Blood featured a second Gold single, “Unskinny Bop,” and the album went multi-Platinum.

In 1991, amidst inner fighting, alcohol, drug abuse and road stories that would make a porn star blush, guitarist C.C. Deville and singer Bret Michaels collided in an all out fist-fight seconds after leaving the stage of the MTV Music Video Awards (right between Cindy Crawford’s high heels and Eddie Van Halen’s sneakers). C.C. Deville left the band.

Poison continued to tour arenas and amphitheatres and recorded the Platinum Native Tongue and Crack A Smile. After five years of not speaking, Michaels and Deville met up in 1999 and, with their chemistry and friendship quickly rekindled, the band went into the studio to record Power To The People. One of the most successful reunion tours of all time followed the album’s release.

Last April, Poison rocketed into the Billboard Top 20 with the #17 debut of the band’s 20th anniversary hits collection, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock (Capitol/EMI). The 18-track hits collection was soon certified gold, and Poison tore through the summer of 2006 on their highly successful “20 Years of Rock” North American concert tour.

To date, Poison has sold more than 25 million records and DVDs worldwide.

1.Little Willy(originally performed by Sweet)
2.Suffragette City(originally performed by David Bowie)
3.I Never Cry(originally performed by Alice Cooper)
4.I Need to Know(originally performed by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
5.Can’t You See(originally performed by The Marshall Tucker Band)
6.What I Like About You(originally performed by The Romantics)
7.Dead Flowers(originally performed by The Rolling Stones)
8.Just What I Needed(originally performed by The Cars)
9.Rock and Roll All Nite(originally performed by Kiss)
10.Squeeze Box(originally performed by The Who)
11.Your Mama Don’t Dance(originally performed by Loggins & Messina)
12.You Don’t Mess Around With Jim(originally performed by Jim Croce)
13.We’re An American Band(originally performed by Grand Funk Railroad)

  • TRACKS 1-8: produced by Don Was - 2007 (new recordings)
  • TRACK 9: produced by Rick Rubin, Less Than Zero soundtrack - 1987
  • TRACK 10: produced by Thom Panunzio, Hollyweird - 2002
  • TRACK 11: produced by Tom Werman, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! - 1988
  • TRACK 12: produced by Ric Browdie - 1987; bonus track on Look What The Cat Dragged In reissue (2006)
  • TRACK 13: produced by Don Was, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock - 2006

Poison: www.poisonweb.com
Previous Entry
Chicago And America Announce US Tour

LOS ANGELES, April 3 2007 — Rock greats Chicago and America today announced an 18-city US summer tour. Beginning June 5th at the Sound Advice Amphitheatre in West Palm Beach, FL, the shows will run through July 8th, finishing at the Open Ai …

Next Entry
Chicago And America Announce US Tour

LOS ANGELES, April 3 2007 — Rock greats Chicago and America today announced an 18-city US summer tour. Beginning June 5th at the Sound Advice Amphitheatre in West Palm Beach, FL, the shows will run through July 8th, finishing at the Open Ai …

Patreon Logo, Become A Patron

Help support WeImprovise! for as little as $5/€5/£5 per month via Patreon Patreon.